​​​​​​​​​

​​​​​​Welcome to Year 2/3!


Reminders

 

Reading- Please ensure your child reads every night at home.

Book bags need to be brought in to school everyday please.

P.E is on Thursday. Please ensure P.E kits are in school including suitable footwear.

Homework is set on a Friday and due in on the following Wednesday.

Snack money-The cost of snack is £2.25 per week payable on a Monday please.

Key Dates for this Term


Monday 16th April - Back to School

Monday 23rd April - Mock SATs Week

Monday 7th May - Bank Holiday

Tuesday 8th May - Back to School

Friday 18th May - Science Day

Tuesday 22nd May - Infant Music Festival

Friday 25th May - School breaks up

Monday 4th June - Back to School

Monday 18th June - Money Week

Monday 16th July - Homework Quests Due

Friday 29th June - Indepedent Write

Friday 20th July - School Breaks up for Summer.


​Useful Websites
 
http://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/ks1/literacy/using_punctuation/play/
 
http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/websites/4_11/site/numeracy.shtml

 
http://www.crickweb.co.uk/ks1numeracy.html​
 
https://www.esa.int/esaKIDSen/
 

 

This Term's Learning...

​​Literacy​​
In Guided Reading and Literacy for the first half of term we are reading 'The Flower' linking to our Science Topic.
the flower front cover.jpg
Topic

​Our Topic question is 'How have Rosa Parks and Nelson Mandela helped to make the world a better place?' We will be looking closely at the lives of both of these individuals. 

rosa-parks-9433715-1-402.jpg

Science
In Science we are looking at how plants grow and we will be attempting to grow our own salads amongst other plants.
We will be naming parts of plants and dentifying what they need to grow.
plants.jpeg

Art

Children will be focusing on Arcimboldo during this term and focusing on how he uses fruit to create portraits.

acrimbaldo.jpg

 
 
​R.E

​During the first half term children will be working with Mrs Hopkinson to answer the question ' How special is the relationship Jewish people have with God?'
jewish star of david.jpeg




Maths

​​During the first half term we will be looking at shape, rotation and graphs.

SAT exams will be at the end of May.

 

shape.jpg